I’m Writing For Slant News

Hi humans!

Happy Sunday. I’m currently cozied up in my booth (yes, my booth) at Starbucks working on homework (kind of) while drinking my chai tea from a RED CUP. Starbucks…you’re jumping the gun here. It’s literally October 25th and you are playing Christmas music and serving drinks in red cups already? I’m not opposed…in fact, I think red cups should be around all year…but still.

I just wanted to pop in and say that I’m officially a writer for Slant News! If you don’t know what Slant is, it’s a news site similar to BuzzFeed that is rapidly growing and expanding. It’s currently ranked just below BuzzFeed, but I have a feeling that will change soon because I think the website is more user-friendly and modern.

Anyway, I will be writing about five posts a week but since I just got the job I submitted some of my older pieces. This “9 Gross Things” article that I published on Thought Catalog last year is currently in the top spot over at Slant! For some reason, this particular article has been my most popular ever. (It reached 1 billion last week on TC!) I guess people are really interested in how disgusting girls can be. πŸ™‚

Two of the other articles I published yesterday are here and here. I would love if ya’ll checked them out (since I am paid per view) and gave me some feedback! I’m really excited to be able to write more and not feel guilty that I’m wasting time since it’s actually a job for me now again rather than just for fun. Not that I should have felt guilty about it, but I did.

I just wanted to pop in and share that will you guys because I was pretty excited when they reached out to me from finding me on Thought Catalog! I have to get back to homework now (ew) but I will definitely be on the blog more this upcoming week. I have my 3 week post-op appointment on Wednesday, so that will be interesting.

Talk to me:

What’s your favorite website to get news from?Β 

Opinion on Starbucks having red cups in October: ready go.

signature

14 thoughts on “I’m Writing For Slant News

  1. So happy to hear about your new job!! That sounds perfect for you! I will have to check out “thought catalog” I’ve never heard of that before. If you keep letting us know about your writings for slant, I’ll keep reading em to support you πŸ‘ plus you’re writings are amusing, so I’ll be looking forward to them!
    Starbucks already on Christmas? It doesn’t surprise me, but agreed, it’s rediculous. Every store (even the goodwill!!!) is setting up for Christmas – I’m almost numb to it, sad to say!
    It’s like, Halloween stuff goes on clearance before it’s even come, while the Christmas stuff goes up- pretty soon November will just be wiped off the calendar! Totally Re-donkulous.
    Anyhow- here’s a request for a “what I ate Wednesday” because it’s been a while and I’m curious!!
    Keep up all your hard work!

    Like

  2. Too early, Starbucks, too early. I live in NYC and in the past few weeks, sometimes I didn’t even get the fall cup – my drink came in a regular white cup. You gotta catch up to the season you’re in before you flash forward to the season to come.
    Congrats on the new job. I’ll be following you here and on your social media and I hope you’ll visit my blog and do the same. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Annie. Firstly, congratulations!! I am sorry your last job did not end up working out for you but working 50+ hrs a week, on top of everything else that you do, well, no wonder it took its toll on you and your body! I hope you are very happy and really enjoy your new role writing for Slant. Of the three postings I have read of yours so far, I am extremely impressed, and I really enjoyed reading your articles. Please continue to share your posts, I/we would be only too pleased and glad to read them. You’re a fantastic writer and do so very uniquely yet whilst still engaging personally and making each and every topic you discuss entertaining, thought provoking and enjoyable to read πŸ™‚ thank you Annie; I hope you are feeling lots better now and not nearly as sore and uncomfortable since your operation.

    Like

  4. Congratulations on your job at Slant News! I hadn’t come across it before but will definitely be taking a look. Its great that your job incorporates more of what you enjoy doing and I hope it goes well for you πŸ™‚
    Starbucks in the UK still have the autumn cups (which I LOVE!) but even in October, I think coffee in a red cup would make me smile x

    Like

    1. Thank you!! Yeah–it is the strangest thing because two days prior to the red cup I had an autumn cup, too! I have to admit that I was pretty dang excited about the red cup because I love Christmas time πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Ooh yes, I would love to see a What I ate wednesday too! And that’s cool that you got a news writing job. I just wrote some newscasts 5 times in the past couple weeks. It was fun and SO different from blog writing. O_O Favorite news site is probably Christian Today or Fox News or The Blaze. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  6. Do you get paid for writing for Slant News? I tend to still get my news the old-fashioned ways, either the newspaper or TV, and then if I want to learn more I Google it. Also, about Starbucks… they should AT LEAST wait until Halloween is over before they start pushing Christmas! One holiday at a time, people! Lets not be in such a rush to get the year over with!

    Like

    1. I do! πŸ™‚ I love getting my news the old-fashioned way, too. I’m kind of the same way! Hahaha, I feel like Starbucks is way ahead of the rest of the country when it comes to holidays. I’m actually sitting in the one on my campus right now and they are playing Christmas music.

      Like

  7. Congratulations on the new job! That’s awesome! I think it is way too early for anything Christmas related. Also, I don’t follow much news but I do enjoy Buzzfeed. Mostly the silly quizzes πŸ˜‰

    Like

  8. Congratulations on your new job. I haven’t heard of slant news before but will have a look now. When it comes to Christmas, it’s my favourite holiday of the year. I’m already watching Christmas films but I’ve never been one for Halloween. But we regards to the red cups. I do think they should have orange colour for Halloween then have the red cups after that.

    Like

leave me with your word vomit:

